Ministère du Développement durable, de l'Environnement
et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques
Home Site Map Québec.ca E-Mail Search About the site Français

Economic instruments for the rational use of pesticides

It should be noted that the document entitled “Economic Instruments for the Rational Use of Pesticides” is not a government policy direction. Instead, it proposes options that are feasible in the Québec context, as stipulated in one of the initiatives in the Québec Pesticide Strategy 2015-2018.

August 2019

After 25 years of responsible pesticide management action, Québec has made progress. However, steps still need to be taken in order to more effectively reduce health and environmental risks associated with the use of these products in Québec. It is for this reason that the Québec Pesticide Strategy 2015-2018 includes provisions to impose stricter conditions on pesticide use and implement actions to make users aware of their responsibilities. To achieve this, the government is considering various ways to control the use of pesticides, including the introduction of economic instruments. As a result, publishing a document on economic instruments is among the actions set forth in the Strategy and it is that action that this text addresses.

The Sustainable Development Commissioner concurs. In the Report of the Auditor General of Québec tabled in the National Assembly in spring 2016, he recommends that the Ministère provide stronger oversight of pesticide use, particularly through economic measures.

According to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), an economic instrument is a measure that uses the price system and market forces to achieve a specific goal. Using instruments of this type with an eye to environmental protection and sustainable development consists of increasing the costs of activities that have a negative impact on the environment. The flexibility of these instruments leaves the choice up to users, while at the same time encouraging them through economic incentives to use alternatives that are less harmful to the environment.

The goal of the Ministère is to use economic instruments to make pesticide users aware of their responsibilities by taking into account the polluter pays principle, i.e., by making users of the most hazardous pesticides assume a greater share of environmental and health-related costs. In addition, the Ministère aims to encourage pesticide users to reduce the amounts of pesticides they use. It also aims to improve the availability of lower-risk pesticides at the time of purchase and to foster choosing alternatives to using pesticides. The use of low-risk pesticides and biopesticides could become more attractive if there were financial advantages involved. The introduction of an economic instrument is a complementary approach to regulatory measures and voluntary actions. It would optimize and promote the government’s current tools for reducing the risks associated with pesticide use.

The purpose of this document is to analyze the possibility of introducing an economic instrument for pesticides and propose possible options adapted to the situation in Québec. Consequently, two economic instrument scenarios are presented. Each has its advantages and disadvantages:

  1. Revision of the permit and certificate fees for the sale and use of pesticides based on the risk of the authorized activities;
  2. Introduction of a levy on pesticides based on their health and environmental risks.

The European experience shows that economic instruments can be applicable to pesticides and that they have some effect. However, they must be bolstered by support measures as well as regulatory measures in order to reduce pesticide use. Such a multifaceted approach is in fact planned as part of the Québec Pesticide Strategy 2015-2018 and the Québec Agricultural Phytosanitary Strategy 2011-2021. The anticipated legal and regulatory amendments as well as the terms and conditions of the economic instruments chosen will be the subject of consultations.

Back - Québec Pesticide Strategy 2015-2018


Return to the top

Développement durable, Environnement, Faune et Parcs Bandeau du ministère du Développement durable, de l'Environnement, de la Faune et des Parcs
Accueil Plan du site Pour nous joindre Québec.ca A propos du site Recherche English

Les instruments économiques pour un usage rationnel des pesticides

À noter que le document « Les instruments économiques pour un usage rationnel des pesticides » ne constitue pas une orientation gouvernementale. Il présente plutôt des options envisageables selon le contexte du Québec, comme le prévoyait l’une des actions contenues dans la Stratégie québécoise des pesticides 2015-2018.

Août 2019

Après 25 années d’intervention, le Québec a fait des progrès en matière de gestion responsable des pesticides. Toutefois, il reste des gestes à poser pour réduire encore plus efficacement les risques pour la santé et l’environnement associés à l’utilisation de ces produits au Québec. C’est la raison pour laquelle la Stratégie québécoise sur les pesticides 2015‑2018 (Stratégie) prévoit un resserrement des conditions d’utilisation des pesticides et la mise en œuvre d’actions visant à responsabiliser davantage les utilisateurs. Pour ce faire, le gouvernement envisage différents moyens pour contrôler l’utilisation des pesticides, notamment l’introduction d’instruments économiques. Ainsi, une des actions de la Stratégie vise spécifiquement la publication d’un document sur les instruments économiques. Le présent document répond à cette action.

Le commissaire au développement durable abonde dans le même sens. Dans le Rapport du Vérificateur général du Québec sur les pesticides en milieu agricole déposé à l’Assemblée nationale au printemps 2016, il recommande au ministère de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques (MELCC) de renforcer l’encadrement de l’utilisation des pesticides, notamment par des mesures économiques.

Selon l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE), un instrument économique est une mesure qui utilise le système des prix et les forces du marché pour atteindre un objectif précis. L’utilisation d’instruments de ce type dans un objectif de protection de l’environnement et de développement durable consiste à accroître les coûts des activités ayant une incidence négative sur l’environnement. Leur souplesse laisse le choix aux utilisateurs tout en les incitant économiquement à avoir recours à des solutions de rechange moins dommageables pour l’environnement.

L’objectif du MELCC est d’utiliser les instruments économiques afin de responsabiliser les utilisateurs de pesticides par le principe de pollueur-payeur, donc en faisant assumer aux utilisateurs des pesticides les plus à risque une plus grande part des coûts environnementaux et des coûts associés à la santé. De plus, le MELCC vise à inciter les utilisateurs de pesticides à réduire les quantités qu’ils utilisent. Il souhaite également améliorer l’offre des pesticides moins à risque lors de l’achat et favoriser les pratiques alternatives à l’usage des pesticides. L’utilisation des pesticides à faible risque et des biopesticides pourrait devenir plus intéressante si un avantage financier y était lié. L’introduction d’un instrument économique s’avère une approche complémentaire aux mesures réglementaires et aux actions volontaires qui permettrait d’optimiser et de promouvoir les outils actuels du gouvernement en matière de réduction des risques associés à l’utilisation des pesticides.

Le présent document a comme but d’analyser la possibilité d’introduire un instrument économique pour les pesticides et de proposer des options possibles selon le contexte du Québec. Ainsi, deux scénarios d’instruments économiques sont présentés, avec chacun leurs avantages et leurs inconvénients :

  1. La révision des droits exigibles pour les permis et les certificats relatifs à la vente et à l’utilisation des pesticides en fonction du risque des activités autorisées;
  2. L’instauration d’une redevance sur les pesticides en fonction du risque pour la santé et pour l’environnement.

L’expérience européenne montre que des instruments économiques peuvent être applicables aux pesticides et qu’ils produisent certains résultats. Toutefois, ils doivent être soutenus par des mesures d’accompagnement et des mesures réglementaires afin de réduire l’utilisation des pesticides. C’est d’ailleurs cette approche d’intervention multifacette qui est prévue dans le cadre de la Stratégie québécoise sur les pesticides 2015‑2018 et de la Stratégie phytosanitaire québécoise en agriculture 2011‑2021. Les modifications légales et réglementaires prévues ainsi que les modalités des instruments économiques retenus feront l’objet de consultations.

Retour à la page Stratégie québécoise sur les pesticides 2015-2018


Gouvernement du Québec
© Gouvernement du Québec, 2019